I've prided myself on not being that Mom who thinks her kids are the best, smartest and most adorable little creatures. It's hard to be humble when you get told on a daily basis that your child is advanced for her age in regards to language. At first, I thought they were just being nice. Every body exaggerates on the cuteness of other kids, or how good they are at stacking blocks, or how they can walk exceptionally well.
It started with Grandma. "She's a little genius" Grandma's are biased, they don't count. I chuckled and went a long with it, saying she was going to be a mastermind when she was older. Of course I was kidding, but Grandma nodded enthusiastically.
Then a few Mom's at the park would ask "How old is she?"... I'd provide her age and they'd say "Wow, she speaks so well" I'd struggle to find a polite, non-arrogant way to answer which usually was "She loves to chatter". "Thank you" didn't suffice since it was not me they were complimenting. "Yes she's advance" was like shouting that I thought my child was superior.
Then there was the passerby's in the street or grocery store who'd respond with shock when she'd tell them all about her day, or the item she had in her hand. They'd ask her ask and follow with the same sentence I'm so used to hearing "Wow, she speaks so well for her age"
But after a year and a half of people telling me she speaks so great, she's articulate, she's advanced.. I'm finally starting to believe that my child is excelling in language. And that doesn't make me a bad person I realize. When people really push that she is so great at speaking I usually reply "Kids can excel in one thing but fall back in another" I usually persuade them that Melina cannot climb things as well as other kids her age so that she balances out. And its true- sometimes they fall back in other categories.
I've been told by a grade 2 teacher that she is more advanced them some kindergartens- my heart swelled. Stop telling me this.. I might become that parent. The one that brags. But hey- that's what parents are for. I am the one to cheer on my kids, to push them to excel, to be their biggest fan. I'll try to keep it under control.
My little sponge. She makes me proud
Lol, funny, it's the same for us. Quin's language skills get commented on all the time. But he can't climb worth a damn. His gross motor skills need work. Doesn't really matter, we all have our strengths and weaknesses. :) I like your blog by the way. Very entertaining to read.
ReplyDelete